V8 Bike Riders Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Someone help me send some messages to this fella to get him to start actually building bikes. He's got a great bike idea available, and something he wants to do:
http://www.earledesigns.com/html/d-train_cycles.html

Ford 302 V8 mounted transverse (sideways), and very tightly packaged. He says it's a 65" wheelbase, and about 800 pounds.

With the engine mounted transverse, there's no 'flopping' over with the bike when you're on the throttle; all the power goes directly to the rear wheel and is very controllable. It was featured in Bike Works magazine a couple years back.

I've seen it on the road here in Seattle, it's sick.

·
Registered
1,161 Posts
Ok.... so here are my first impressions:

Now, I'm no mechanic so take what I say with a grain of salt..... just observations. The exhaust is different lengths from each exhaust port so doesn't this create different back pressures on each cylinder??? The rear sprocket looks to be the same as the front ( I know these are prototype pics) so I can only assume it will be changed out for a larger one. Primary drive looks too wide to be comfortable......
Solid wheel??? Don't do it!!! Looks to be a yama R1 front end...... nice, but is it up to the job of handling the weight??? Wouldn't there be a bit of flex in the frame neck since there is no down tube(s)????

Would love to see a complete left side view......

Where is the fuel tank??? Is it that piece that sits on what appears to be a battery frame box?

As much as I admire the guys skills and effort....... I think it has a ways to go. For me, a lot of the appeal of riding a V8 bike is having both banks of cylinders hanging out for all to see...... kinda missing that point here.

Just my .02.:chat:

·
Registered
2,212 Posts
.....The rear sprocket looks to be the same as the front ( I know these are prototype pics) so I can only assume it will be changed out for a larger one. .