V8 Bike Riders Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I always feel I need to preface my opinions with the disclaimer that I am not a mechanic. I enjoy mechanical things and I read a lot.

So, the following procedure was created by me. I have used it on a number of Trikes with excellent results. I make no other claims for the correctness of the procedure.

Boss Hoss Trike Alignment

There are three steps required to get the Boss Hoss Trike wheels properly aligned. If your Trike is performing without any problems other than a “pulling” to the right or to the left as you ride down the road, you might consider skipping STEP 1 and STEP 2. STEP 3 is the actual “wheel alignment” procedure similar to the one performed when you take your automobile in for a wheel alignment. STEP 1 AND STEP 2 are chassis alignment procedures that should only need to be done in major assembly / reassembly situations.

STEP 1 – Transmission Height Adjustment.

The first step is to align the rear of the Turbo 350 transmission so it is in the same horizontal plane as the Heim joints that connect the rear axle. This step is performed during assembly of the Trike and should not have to be redone unless something has changed or you just want to check it to be sure it is right. If you are not going to perform this step, go to STEP 2.