V8 Bike Riders Forums banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2002 BHC-3 (350/385 hp). It's in great shape and only has 2000 miles on it. I'm new to the bike and not knowledgeable of common problems. I'm having a problem starting it after it's been ridden for a while. The choke is wired off, supposedly for this very reason. Anybody have any suggestions or encountered the same problem? Thanks, I'd appreciate any advice you have. No dealership within 500 miles. Rick Carrier, Alamogordo, NM

·
Registered
163 Posts
Rick,

It would help to know more about what it's doing when you try to re-start it when warm, but I assume it's flooding out? My choke used to close, causing flooding, but if yours is wired open, that can't be it. Are you just hitting the starter without twisting the throttle - I hope? These generally don't need to be primed when warm, so make sure you are just hitting the starter until you need gas.

Make sure your choke is wired open correctly too. If it is slightly closed, that could cause a rich condition. Somewhere else on this tech board, someone mentioned about shutting the fuel off just before turning the bike off, slightly draining some of the gas in the line and preventing too much gas on startup. Just a thought.

You could always have carburetor Mike rebuild yours into a Stage II with no choke and solve your problem :lol:

I'm sure others will jump in here with more good info.

Brad

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the advice!

Thanks, Brad. I'm not twisting the throttle. It's either a flooding or a vapor lock problem, I believe. I test drove it today and shut it off on three different occasions without a problem. I'll experiment with the fuel shut-off valve. It's a sick feeling when it doesn't start because it would take a team of mules to load that thing on a trailer.

Could you give me a little info on Carburetor Mike and what a stage II carb is? Rick

·
Registered